Skip to content

Pocket Prep vs examCORE for the ASP

Short answer: Pocket Prep is a low-cost subscription app for drilling questions (1,300 ASP questions, $20.99 billed monthly, or $124.99 a year). examCORE is BCSP's own ASP video course ($999 for 6 months, about 20 hours of video and 1,000+ questions). We make PassCited, so it's shown as a third column, not ranked. Facts are from each seller's own pages, checked October 2026.

ASP prepPocket PrepBCSP examCOREPassCited (ours)
What it isQuestion-bank app (iPhone, Android, web)BCSP's own self-paced video courseCited practice questions with short video lessons, on the web on any phone or computer
ASP questions1,3001,000+1,417 (live count)
Price$20.99 per month, $49.99 per 3 months or $124.99 per year$999 per exam$80 per exam, or $143 for all three
AccessSubscription that renews until cancelled6 months, extendable in 3-month packages up to 12 months6 months, one payment, no auto-renew. Extends free while you keep studying, up to your exam date (12 months without a date)
VideoNone listed on its BCSP exam pagesA video course: 20 hours (ASP), 22 hours (CSP) and 24 to 25 hours (CHST) of video instruction, covering more than 40 (ASP, CSP) or more than 50 (CHST) EHS subject areasIncluded with every pass at no extra cost: 154 short lessons (59 ASP, 42 CSP and 53 CHST), 5 to 8 minutes each, 16 hours 46 minutes in all, every rule cited on screen, with captions and transcripts
Free to tryYes: 35 free ASP questions, 30 free CSP or CHST questionsNot statedYes: a free 25-question diagnostic and free questions on every topic page, no card
RefundsApp store purchases go through Apple or Google; website purchases through Pocket Prep supportAll sales final, no refunds7-day money-back guarantee: full refund if you haven't finished a full mock exam, one per customer
If you don't pass3 more months of Premium if you meet its conditions and don't passFree Learning Extension of up to 6 months if you need to retake, after completing the course (earning the examCORE Certificate of Completion)Free access extension if you study with an active pass and don't pass

Who each one suits

  • Pocket Prep: You want to study mostly on a phone app. You want the largest CSP question count we found (1,300).
  • examCORE: You want a full video course: 20 to 25 hours of video per exam, covering far more topics than our short lessons. You want prep from the board that runs the exam.
  • PassCited: You want every answer to quote the rule it tests, one payment with no renewal, and free ASP questions to try first.

Questions

Is Pocket Prep or examCORE better for the ASP?

They are different kinds of prep. Pocket Prep is a subscription question-bank app with 1,300 ASP questions. examCORE is BCSP's own video course, $999 for 6 months, with 20 hours of ASP video and 1,000+ questions. Pick Pocket Prep for low-cost drilling on a phone; pick examCORE if you want a full video course from the board that runs the exam.

Does examCORE have an app?

examCORE's pages describe a self-paced online course. Pocket Prep has native iPhone and Android apps. PassCited runs in the phone's browser and can be added to the home screen.

Can I use Pocket Prep and examCORE together?

Yes. Pocket Prep's own pages say it isn't meant to be your only study source, and many candidates pair a question bank with a course. Check each seller's site for current prices.

What does the ASP exam cover?

BCSP's ASP11 Examination Blueprint, V.2024.04.24 (effective Sept 1, 2025) has 9 domains: Mathematical Calculations (10%), Safety Programs and Concepts (25%), Ergonomics (8%), Fire Prevention and Protection (12%), Emergency Preparedness and Response (10%), Industrial Hygiene and Occupational Health (12%), Environmental Management (7%), Training, Education, and Communication (11%), Legal (5%).

Try the free ASP diagnostic

25 questions, scored by ASP domain, no card needed.

Keep going in your ASP course

Your ASP pass opens every question, the lessons, domain quizzes and full-length mocks.

Prices checked October 2026

Every competitor fact on this page comes from the seller's own public pages, checked October 16, 2026 (EHSpass, OpenExamPrep and Pass Harbor: October 19, 2026). Where a page doesn't say, we write “Not stated”. Prices and terms change, so confirm on their site before you buy.

Pocket Prep is a mark of Pocket Prep, Inc.. examCORE is a mark of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP). ASP®, CSP® and CHST® are registered marks of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP). All marks belong to their owners. PassCited is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any of them. Found something out of date? Email hello@passcited.com and we'll fix it.