Skip to content

Best ASP, CSP and CHST exam prep compared

Six popular ways to prepare for the BCSP® exams, side by side. Every fact comes from the seller's own pages, checked October 2026. We make PassCited, so we've kept to facts you can check yourself.

Start with what you need

  • Live classes with an instructor

    Bowen EHS or an ASSP 3-day course

  • Video lessons that teach each topic

    BCSP examCORE

  • A phone app and the largest question bank

    Pocket Prep

  • A printed workbook

    SPAN or ASSP

  • CEUs for finishing the course

    Bowen EHS or ASSP

  • One low payment and answers that quote the rule

    PassCited

Side by side

Prices are for one exam unless noted. “Not stated” means the seller's pages don't say.

PassCited

Price
$80 per exam, or $143 for all three
Access
90 days, one payment, no auto-renew
Questions
1,088 ASP, 680 CSP, 1,045 CHST
Format
Self-paced practice on the web, on any phone or computer
Free to try
Yes: a free 25-question diagnostic and free questions on every topic page, no card
Refunds
Not stated in our terms

Pocket Prep

Price
$20.99 per month, $49.99 per 3 months or $124.99 per year
Access
Subscription that renews until cancelled
Questions
1,300 ASP, 1,300 CSP, 400 CHST
Format
Self-paced app on iPhone, Android and the web
Free to try
Yes: 35 free ASP questions, 30 free CSP or CHST questions
Refunds
App store purchases go through Apple or Google; website purchases through Pocket Prep support

SPAN exam prep from ClickSafety

Price
$275 online prep, $400 with workbook, $950 with a 3-day workshop
Access
1 year of online access
Questions
Not stated ("hundreds of problems")
Format
Online practice exams, printed workbook, optional 3-day workshop in person or virtual
Free to try
Not stated
Refunds
Online prep: all sales final, with credit toward a workshop. Workbook: 30-day return, 15% restocking fee.

Bowen EHS

Price
ASP review $1,145 ($1,020 with early payment). CSP review $995 ($870 early).
Access
From registration until 1 year after the course starts
Questions
Not stated (study question databases included)
Format
Live online classes twice a week, with recordings
Free to try
Free study questions by weekly email
Refunds
Full refund 21+ days before the start, then $200 or $300 fees, none from 15 days after the start

BCSP examCORE

Price
$999 per exam
Access
6 months, extendable in 3-month packages up to 12 months
Questions
1,000+ per exam
Format
Self-paced video course: 20 to 25 hours of video, quizzes and a timed simulated exam
Free to try
Not stated
Refunds
All sales final, no refunds

ASSP certification prep

Price
$1,125 for the self-paced ASP course (member price not shown when signed out)
Access
12 months for self-paced
Questions
800+ on the ASP course page; the overview page says the textbook has over 900
Format
Self-paced online, or a 3-day course live virtual or in person
Free to try
Not stated
Refunds
No refund for self-paced courses

What PassCited includes

  • $80 per exam, or $143 for all three, for 90 days, one payment, no auto-renew
  • Every answer cites and quotes its source, such as the OSHA rule it tests
  • A free 25-question diagnostic with a readiness score by blueprint domain
  • A tutor that explains any question you miss
  • No repeats: you won't see the same question twice unless you choose See similar questions
  • Free formula sheets and calculators, open to everyone
  • Share your link and a friend gets 15% off their first pass

What we don't have: video lessons, live classes, a printed workbook, CEUs or a native app. Our access is 90 days, shorter than the 6 to 12 months most courses give.

See pricing or browse the free tools

Compare one by one

Common questions

Which ASP exam prep costs the least?

Of the options we checked, a single month of Pocket Prep ($20.99) is the lowest entry price, and it renews until you cancel. PassCited is the lowest one-time price at $80 for 90 days. The courses run from $275 (SPAN online prep) to $1,145 (Bowen EHS ASP review).

Which has the most practice questions?

examCORE lists 1,000+ per exam and Pocket Prep lists 1,300 for the ASP and CSP. PassCited has 1,088 ASP, 680 CSP, 1,045 CHST today, and the bank grows every day. SPAN and Bowen EHS don't state a count.

Which options include CEUs?

Bowen EHS lists 2.4 CEUs for its ASP review and ASSP lists 3.0 CEUs. PassCited, Pocket Prep and SPAN online prep don't list CEUs on the pages we checked.

Is any of this prep official?

examCORE is made by BCSP, the board that runs the exams. BCSP says examCORE does not use real exam questions. The others, including PassCited, are independent and not affiliated with BCSP.

Does anyone guarantee a pass?

No one can promise you a pass. Several sellers offer a free retake or more access if you don't pass and meet their conditions. The table lists each one's terms.

See where you stand first

25 questions, free, no card. You get a readiness score by blueprint domain, whichever prep you choose.

Prices checked October 2026

Every competitor fact on this page comes from the seller's own public pages, checked October 16, 2026. Where a page doesn't say, we write “Not stated”. Prices and terms change, so confirm on their site before you buy.

Pocket Prep is a mark of Pocket Prep, Inc.. SPAN is a mark of ClickSafety. Bowen EHS is a mark of Bowen Learning Network, Inc.. examCORE is a mark of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP). ASSP is a mark of the American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP). ASP®, CSP® and CHST® are registered marks of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP). All marks belong to their owners. PassCited is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any of them. Found something out of date? Email hello@passcited.com and we'll fix it.