Skip to content

PassCited vs SPAN

Both help you prepare for the BCSP® exams, in different ways. PassCited: one payment for practice questions whose answers quote their source. SPAN: online practice exams and a printed workbook, with an optional 3-day workshop.

At a glance

Price

PassCited
$80 per exam, or $143 for all three
SPAN
$275 online prep, $400 with workbook, $950 with a 3-day workshop

Access

PassCited
6 months (180 days), one payment, no auto-renew. Extends free while you keep studying, up to your exam date (12 months without a date)
SPAN
1 year of online access

Practice questions

PassCited
1,105 ASP, 738 CSP, 1,089 CHST
SPAN
Not stated ("hundreds of problems")

Format

PassCited
Self-paced, verified and cited practice questions plus short video lessons, on the web, on any phone or computer
SPAN
Online practice exams, printed workbook, optional 3-day workshop in person or virtual

Video lessons

PassCited
Included with every pass at no extra cost: 155 short lessons (59 ASP, 42 CSP and 54 CHST), 5 to 8 minutes each, 16 hours 51 minutes in all, every rule cited on screen, with captions and transcripts
SPAN
None listed for online prep (the page links a product demo video). The optional workshop is instructor-led

Exams

PassCited
ASP, CSP and CHST
SPAN
ASP, CSP and CHST

Free to try

PassCited
Yes: a free 25-question diagnostic, free questions on every topic page, no card
SPAN
Not stated

Progress and planning

PassCited
Readiness score for each blueprint domain with a likely range, weak-spot drills, and a day-by-day study plan to your exam date that adapts as you improve (a study guide, not a pass prediction)
SPAN
Online prep tracks your scores and progress; the workshop covers designing a study plan

Refunds

PassCited
7-day money-back guarantee: full refund if you haven't finished a full mock exam, one per customer
SPAN
Online prep: all sales final, with credit toward a workshop. Workbook: 30-day return, 15% restocking fee.

If you don't pass

PassCited
Free access extension if you study with an active pass and don't pass
SPAN
Retake the workshop free if you don't pass

SPAN facts from its own pages, checked October 2026. Our question counts are live from our bank.

Where they differ

  • SPAN online prep is $275 for one year. PassCited is $80 for 6 months (180 days), or $143 for all three exams, and access extends free while you keep studying, up to your exam date.
  • SPAN offers a printed workbook and a 3-day workshop. PassCited is online only, with no workbook or classes.
  • SPAN's pages do not state a question count. PassCited shows its live count for each exam.
  • SPAN's online prep is a final sale, with credit toward a workshop. PassCited refunds you in full within 7 days if you haven't finished a full mock exam, once per customer.
  • PassCited includes 155 video lessons with every pass at no extra cost, with every rule cited on screen. SPAN's pages don't list video lessons.

SPAN also includes: printed workbook, instructor-led workshop option.

Who PassCited fits

  • You want one payment with no renewal: $80 per exam, or $143 for all three.
  • You want every answer to quote the rule or source it tests.
  • You want mostly practice, with short cited video lessons on heavily weighted topics and a tutor when you miss.
  • You want fresh questions, never the same one twice unless you ask.
  • You want a readiness score by domain and a day-by-day plan to your exam date.

When SPAN may suit you better

  • You want a printed workbook to study from.
  • You want an instructor-led workshop, in person or virtual.
  • You want a full year of online access.

Common questions

How much does SPAN cost compared with PassCited?

SPAN: $275 online prep, $400 with workbook, $950 with a 3-day workshop. PassCited: $80 per exam, or $143 for all three. Prices are from each site, checked October 2026.

How long is access?

SPAN: 1 year of online access. PassCited: 6 months (180 days), one payment, no auto-renew. Extends free while you keep studying, up to your exam date (12 months without a date).

How many practice questions does each have?

SPAN: Not stated ("hundreds of problems"). PassCited, live today: 1,105 ASP, 738 CSP, 1,089 CHST.

Can I try either one free?

SPAN: Not stated. PassCited: Yes: a free 25-question diagnostic, free questions on every topic page, no card.

Does either one have video lessons?

SPAN: none listed for online prep (the page links a product demo video). The optional workshop is instructor-led. PassCited: included with every pass at no extra cost: 155 short lessons (59 ASP, 42 CSP and 54 CHST), 5 to 8 minutes each, 16 hours 51 minutes in all, every rule cited on screen, with captions and transcripts.

How does each track progress and plan your study?

SPAN: online prep tracks your scores and progress; the workshop covers designing a study plan. PassCited: readiness score for each blueprint domain with a likely range, weak-spot drills, and a day-by-day study plan to your exam date that adapts as you improve (a study guide, not a pass prediction).

Is PassCited affiliated with SPAN or BCSP?

No. PassCited is independent and not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by ClickSafety or BCSP.

Try PassCited before you decide

25 questions, free, no card. You get a readiness score by blueprint domain.

Pick up where you left off

Your course keeps your progress, domain quizzes and study plan.

More comparisons

Prices checked October 2026

Every competitor fact on this page comes from the seller's own public pages, checked October 16, 2026. Where a page doesn't say, we write “Not stated”. Prices and terms change, so confirm on their site before you buy. Our own terms are on the pricing page.

SPAN is a mark of ClickSafety. ASP®, CSP® and CHST® are registered marks of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP). All marks belong to their owners. PassCited is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any of them. Found something out of date? Email hello@passcited.com and we'll fix it.