PassCited vs ASSP
Both help you prepare for the BCSP® exams, in different ways. PassCited: one payment for practice questions whose answers quote their source. ASSP: the safety society's own courses, self-paced or as a 3-day class, with CEUs.
At a glance
Price
- PassCited
- $80 per exam, or $143 for all three
- ASSP
- Self-paced ASP course $1,125 ($950 for ASSP members). Self-paced CHST course $975 ($815 for members).
Access
- PassCited
- 6 months (180 days), one payment, no auto-renew. Extends free while you keep studying, up to your exam date (12 months without a date)
- ASSP
- 1 year for self-paced courses
Practice questions
- PassCited
- 1,088 ASP, 694 CSP, 1,049 CHST
- ASSP
- ASP and CSP: a textbook with over 900 questions. CHST: over 400 sample questions plus a 200-question practice exam.
Format
- PassCited
- Self-paced, verified and cited practice questions on the web, on any phone or computer
- ASSP
- Self-paced online with a hard-copy textbook, or a 3-day course live virtual or in person
Exams
- PassCited
- ASP, CSP and CHST
- ASSP
- ASP, CSP and CHST
Free to try
- PassCited
- Yes: a free 25-question diagnostic and free questions on every topic page, no card
- ASSP
- Not stated
Progress and planning
- PassCited
- Readiness score for each blueprint domain with a likely range, weak-spot drills, and a day-by-day study plan to your exam date that adapts as you improve (a study guide, not a pass prediction)
- ASSP
- Not stated
Refunds
- PassCited
- 7-day money-back guarantee: full refund if you haven't finished a full mock exam, one per customer
- ASSP
- No refund for self-paced courses
If you don't pass
- PassCited
- Free access extension if you study with an active pass and don't pass
- ASSP
- Retake the same course free if you sit the exam within a year (not for courses hosted by chapters or regions)
ASSP facts from its own pages, checked October 2026. Our question counts are live from our bank.
Where they differ
- ASSP teaches the material in a course with a textbook. PassCited is a practice bank: questions with cited answers, a tutor and a study plan to your exam date. Some people use a course and a practice bank together.
- ASSP's self-paced ASP course is $1,125, or $950 for members. PassCited is $80 per exam for 180 days, and ASSP chapters can ask us for a 28% member code.
- ASSP's CHST pages list over 400 sample questions and a 200-question practice exam. PassCited's live CHST count is in the table.
- ASSP's self-paced courses are non-refundable. PassCited refunds you in full within 7 days if you haven't finished a full mock exam, once per customer.
ASSP also includes: instructor-led 3-day courses, a hard-copy textbook, 3.0 CEUs, discussion groups.
Who PassCited fits
- You want one payment with no renewal: $80 per exam, or $143 for all three.
- You want every answer to quote the rule or source it tests.
- You'd rather practise than watch lessons, with a tutor when you miss.
- You want fresh questions, never the same one twice unless you ask.
- You want a readiness score by domain and a day-by-day plan to your exam date.
When ASSP may suit you better
- You want CEUs: ASSP lists 3.0 for its self-paced courses.
- You want an instructor-led 3-day class, live virtual or in person.
- You want a printed textbook to study from.
- You want a full year of access to the course.
Common questions
How much does ASSP cost compared with PassCited?
ASSP: Self-paced ASP course $1,125 ($950 for ASSP members). Self-paced CHST course $975 ($815 for members).. PassCited: $80 per exam, or $143 for all three. Prices are from each site, checked October 2026.
How long is access?
ASSP: 1 year for self-paced courses. PassCited: 6 months (180 days), one payment, no auto-renew. Extends free while you keep studying, up to your exam date (12 months without a date).
How many practice questions does each have?
ASSP: ASP and CSP: a textbook with over 900 questions. CHST: over 400 sample questions plus a 200-question practice exam.. PassCited, live today: 1,088 ASP, 694 CSP, 1,049 CHST.
Can I try either one free?
ASSP: Not stated. PassCited: Yes: a free 25-question diagnostic and free questions on every topic page, no card.
How does each track progress and plan your study?
ASSP: not stated on its pages. PassCited: readiness score for each blueprint domain with a likely range, weak-spot drills, and a day-by-day study plan to your exam date that adapts as you improve (a study guide, not a pass prediction).
Is PassCited affiliated with ASSP or BCSP?
No. PassCited is independent and not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by the American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP) or BCSP.
Try PassCited before you decide
25 questions, free, no card. You get a readiness score by blueprint domain.
More comparisons
- PassCited vs Pocket PrepA subscription app with large question banks for many professional exams.
- PassCited vs Safety PrepAn Apple app subscription for all three exams, with flashcards and audio lessons.
- PassCited vs AccelaStudyA monthly subscription with adaptive practice for all eight BCSP credentials.
- PassCited vs SPANOnline practice exams and a printed workbook, with an optional 3-day workshop.
- PassCited vs Bowen EHSLive online review classes over 5 to 8 weeks, with recordings and CEUs.
- PassCited vs examCOREBCSP's own self-paced video course with 1,000+ practice questions.
Prices checked October 2026
Every competitor fact on this page comes from the seller's own public pages, checked October 16, 2026. Where a page doesn't say, we write “Not stated”. Prices and terms change, so confirm on their site before you buy. Our own terms are on the pricing page.
ASSP is a mark of the American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP). ASP®, CSP® and CHST® are registered marks of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP). All marks belong to their owners. PassCited is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any of them. Found something out of date? Email hello@passcited.com and we'll fix it.